上一主题:请通过LEVEL 1的同学们进来下
下一主题:诚征广州考友
返回列表 发帖

CFA as a Career changing option

最是能看到坛子上有人问:CFA对找工作有什么好处。看到一个不错的帖子忍不住转帖一下,

同学甲(此人40岁,年纪大了点):

Hi guys,

I am basically a Chartered Accountant, at the moment a Shattered Accountant!
I need a bailout in the form of your opinions and thoughts:

I have around 10+ years experience in the financial services sector- around 6+ years as Accounts/Finance-in-charge of a financial services company and the next 4+ years as a IT Business Analyst with various investment banks.

I am slightly confused because I am getting conflicting advice from people on these questions:

1. Whether a CFA charter will add any value to my career at this stage i.e. given the fact that I already have 10+ years experience?
2. I guess I will be getting a charter immediately after clearing Level-3 since I have relevant 6+ years of accounting experience.
3. Once I qualify, do I need to start from scratch or will I get due consideration for my accounting or Business Analysis experience which I admit may not be too relevant from a CFA point of view?
4. Is there any way I can leverage my 10+ years experience (including 4 years in ITl) while getting into a research or a portfolio manager position?

5. If I were to start from scratch, I guess I have to be prepared for a 'massive' undercutting as far as comp package is concerned, isn't it? Mine is currently at 65k+ British pound sterling per annum

I want to use CFA as an option to get into research while at the same time I want the employer to give due weightage to my huge experience as well. Is this possible or am I living in a utopian world?

同学乙(此人28岁,自己说工作了5年)